Palmiers – In Rainbow!

Okay, easiest recipe EVER this week. Only two ingredients: Crescent Rolls and SUGAR.

Yes, just those two ingredients made some super delicious Palmier cookies. Okay, a third ingredient I used…Food coloring, because rainbows, that’s why.

20170812_200311_resized

Yup. Rainbows. Haha!!

So, you take your crescent rolls, open the package and lay them all out, pressing in the seams to make it one big sheet (I understand you can buy just sheets of this dough, but we can’t here, so…) and you douse with some plain old sugar one side, not a whole lot, just enough to cover it slightly, and kind of press in the sugar so it doesn’t fall off, because next you’re going to turn it over the the other side.

20170812_164351_resized

Yum. So, the other side you do your sugar in rainbows! Or regular sugar, or just one color, whatever floats your boat:

20170812_164644_resized

I laid the sugar on pretty thick, which I don’t recommend, because you just lose most of it anyway. By the way, I colored my sugar by just dumping some sugar in a sandwich bag, and squirting in some gel food coloring and smushing around. Worked really well, as you can tell!!

Then, you roll up both sides to about half way…

20170812_181326_resized

(see, already losing sugar) And put it into the fridge to harden back up a bit, took about an hour.

Then you pull it back out and slice them up! I did mine maybe an inch thick. Worked for me, but do whatever, don’t do them too thin, you will really lose all of that sugar.

So, when you put them on your greased pan, do it with the color UP, so, not like it looks in this picture, I had just finished cutting them here, if you cook them this way they will flatten out and be all weird and not pretty at all. I actually did this with my first batch in because I wasn’t thinking. Still tasted good, but they were sad and ugly. Haha!

These were pretty delicious, and seriously one of the easiest things I’ve ever done….Besides a boxed cake or brownies. Haha!

So, we’re coming down to it being pretty close to birthday time…and the big 13 at that. I think I announced we are doing a mint/light pink/gold themed party? Maybe, I’m not sure. I’ve been doing some prework like making this cakepop holder out of USPS boxes:

Spray painted light pink and gold and hot glued together. This would work well for cupcakes, too. But, I am not doing cakepops AND cupcakes. She always chooses cakepops.

20170809_190553_resized.jpg

Working on presents, too. Tod is working on being in the way back there, like usual. There are 13 presents, each one a little better than the last. Starting with a tube of mascara, because 13 is probably old enough for at least mascara, I don’t know what you other moms do! Ending with a new bed spread (sheets, comforter, a fancy pillow, each is its own present). A lot are just cheap finds that are pretty awesome, but some were preeeettty expensive, like a LuLaRoe outfit, that stuff is SPENDY.

Anyway, only one more week of delicious rainbows, and then we’re on to fall stuff, and, I have to tell you, I am more excited about the fall theme than I have been about the summer one. I can’t tell you just yet…Because, I don’t want to! HAHA! But, next week a savory dish, and then the party, and THEN it’ll be time!

HAPPY EQUINOX DAY…Hope you had a better view than we did – clouds like every single other day of the year! And, happy back to school!

Leave a comment