Raspberry and Cream Scones <3

Okay, guys, I am having so much fun with this pink theme. I am so excited that it’s October – Breast Cancer Awareness month. Breast cancer is something that is close to my heart, I have lost close family friends to it, and it’s a common occurrence in my family, although so far everyone has beat the odds.

This week I purchased a huge carton of raspberries at Costco, why? Because I am craaazzzzy. No, I don’t know why, they looked really delicious and the fruit at Costco is priced well, and it’s actually some of the best in town. Fresh fruit and veggies are actually quite hard to come here in town…

So, what did I do with these raspberries? Well, I ate quite a few of them alone, but then I put some into scones! Because I love scones, they are pretty simple to make and really delicious. So, there we have it. I made scones. This weekend I will probably be muddling the rest up and mixing them with vodka…Happy that this week is finally over!

My scones recipe is pretty basic, then I just toss in whatever I want for flavor, ha! In this case raspberries:

20171011_190102_resized

Sometimes what you decide to add in makes it super stick and you need to add more flour to combat that…That was the case here, so be aware that the recipe below, I did add possibly an extra 1/4 cup of flour.

Raspberry and Cream Scones:
Yields 8 scones Prep time: 15 minutes Bake time: 15 minutes. Total time: 30 minutes.

Ingredients:
2 cups of flour (this is the original amount that I used in my recipe)
1 tablespoon of baking powder
3 tablespoons of sugar
½ teaspoon of salt
5 tablespoons of butter, very cold and cubed
1 cup of heavy cream
¾ cup of raspberries, or so.

Icing:
1 cup of powdered sugar
2 tablespoons of heavy cream
2 tablespoons of raspberry jelly

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and place a piece of parchment paper on your pan (I use a pizza pan) .
  2. In your bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
  3. Using your pastry cutter, or two knives, cut your cubed, cold butter into your flour mixture until you have pea sized crumbles.
  4. Add in the heavy cream and mix until incorporated.
  5. Fold in your raspberries. They will smush all up while mixing, so don’t bother cutting them beforehand.
  6. This is where you may need to add in more flour, mine was quite sticky from my juicy raspberries, you don’t want your dough crumbly, but you do want to be able to work with it.
  7. On a floured surface, pat the dough into a round disk about 10 inches wide. Cut into quarters, and then cut each quarter into halves, making eight total scones.
  8. Transfer to your prepared pan and bake for approximately 15 minutes.

For the icing:

  1. Whisk powdered sugar and heavy cream together in a small bowl.
  2. Whisk in jelly.
  3. You may add in a small amount of pink food coloring (it’s how I got such a nice pink colored icing).
  4. If your icing is too stiff, add in a bit more heavy cream, if it is too runny, add in some extra powdered sugar.

I actually didn’t have any open raspberry jelly, so I used the last of my salmonberry jam from earlier this year, salmonberries and raspberries have a close taste, salmonberries being way better, for the record.

I added some almonds on to about half of them, because raspberries and almonds go so well together. You can mix them inside the dough, as well, if you’d like!

Also, happy Friday the 13th! makes me feel just one step closer to Halloween, so excited. We are planning a PUMPKIN PARTY, I will have tons of photos and interesting recipes up for that, along with my usual for this month, more beautiful pink desserts.

Leave a comment