Pink Swiss Roll – With Sprinkles and Failure

I have only made one other cake roll, the rainbow one from the summer. The rainbow one turned out kind of beautiful. My pink one had some issues. My cake BROKE and ENTIRE 1/4 off when I removed it from the pan. I just didn’t have enough space, because my kitchen is TEENY. But, I figured that it’d be fine once I got the frosting inside to hold it together, plus it would be on the inside of my roll, so it should have been fine. Should have been being the key phrase there. I rolled up my roll as usual, you take your cake out and put it on a powder sugared towel and roll it up after removing the parchment paper from the backside.

20171014_134130_resized

All nice and rolled up, looks perfect, I expected nothing. Well, guess what, when I unrolled it, it basically completely fell apart. I wanted to cry, this was actually supposed to be a dessert for a party I was going to that night (this was Saturday). I made the frosting up anyway – 1 tub of cool whip, 8oz of room temp cream cheese, 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Whipped that all up and tried to spread it inside as best as I could. Tossed in some sprinkles because they make me happy…

20171014_151844_resized

These are some leftovers from our pink, mint, and gold birthday party, I have a TON of leftover sprinkles, I greatly misjudged the amount I would need, but I am glad I had more instead of less. Not like they are going back anytime soon anyway!

You can kind of tell that this guy has some issues, it looks a little scary, and I should have put more sprinkles to ease the pain. I ended up making something else to take to my party. Haha! For the cake, I just used a 1/2 box of white cake mix and dyed it pink, of course. I just don’t even want to talk about how sad I am about how ugly this guy turned out. It tasted great, but it wasn’t presentable. I almost didn’t want to even post this week because I am so upset, but the show must go on. We must have another pink dessert!!!

Leave a comment