Black Cake and Pink Brownies!

Well, I got a 2fer for you today! My sister’s birthday has come and gone, and she wanted to celebrate with a black cake! Then she wanted a colorful cake, then she didn’t even know if she was coming over. She makes me crazy, but that’s what sisters are for…

So, I ended up doing a colorful black cake. Ha!

As I’ve always said, buttercream is NOT my specialty. I am working on it. Here my biggest issue was I didn’t actually have enough black buttercream to make the top that I wanted. I had envisioned larger “poofs” of black buttercream at the top, and less sprinkles, but that just didn’t work out. So, a bunch of teeny ones and a bunch of sprinkles, haha!

20171001_122447_resized

Excuse the kind of ugly picture on the inside, this cake was devoured by several small children who were picking at it. Haha! Blue and purple white cakes on the bottom and then black cakes at the top, with purple buttercream in between the layers.

For the black cake and the black buttercream I followed this totally amazing recipe, find it HERE. The ingredients seem strange (mayo and vinegar??) but, trust me (and her) this cake is amazing. I didn’t actually add the melted chocolate to the buttercream, I just don’t have good luck with doing that.

On to my brownies….I didn’t have great success here, I followed a recipe a bit, because I have never made white chocolate brownies. I had some serious issues with the recipe I chose (find it HERE). I followed the directions exactly, and there was butter bubbling out the sides. SO MUCH BUTTER. I actually had to POUR butter out of my pan and keep cooking the brownies. Holy cow, it was drowning in butter.

20171001_171925_resized

The whole point of making white chocolate brownies, of course, was to make the PINK white chocolate brownies. The white in here is a cheesecake swirl. So, I reserved 1/2 cup of the pink white chocolate brownie mixture, and dumped the rest at the bottom of a prepared 8×8 pan. Then poured on the cheesecake layer (8oz softened cream cheese, creamed together with 1/4 cup sugar, 1 egg, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla) then I took the reserved 1/2 cup of brownie batter and mixed in about 2 tablespoons of milk to make it thinner, poured it on top, and then used a knife to swirl it in. I did not do this daintly, I did it quickly so I could feed it to small children, haha! You can make it much prettier than I.

Even after pouring off a lot of butter and cooking it more..These tasted a lot like butter, and they were overly moist from the liquid in them…But, they were still okay. I am quite sad about how they really turned out, though. But, they were pink, and that makes the difference. I am so happy that it is October, official Breast Cancer Awareness month.

Leave a comment