Raspberry Muffins – With Chocolate Chips!

So, what better way to make something pink, besides adding some good ol’ Jello to it? I really can’t think of a better way, besides adding a bunch of food coloring, which isn’t that great for you, and it’s expensive. And time consuming. I looked to Jello for my muffins I made this week…Yum AND cute!

20170924_200508_resized

And, holy pink, Batman! This stuff was NEON. Now, I am posting the recipe, but just know that these were a bit heavy on the flour. I will definitely add less next time. They were pretty dense.

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Muffins:
Yields 12 Muffins Prep time: 15 minutes Bake time: 30 minutes. Total time: 45 minutes.

Ingredients:
2 cups of flour (this is the original amount that I used in my recipe)
6oz box of raspberry Jello (this is the bigger box)
¼ cup of sugar
½ cup of butter, softened
½ teaspoon of salt
2 teaspoons of baking powder
2 eggs
½ cup of buttermilk (or ½ cup of milk with some vinegar or lemon juice mixed in [a very small amount] left alone for a few minutes to sour)
½ cup of chocolate chips, feel free to add more if you love chocolate chips, I am not crazy about them!

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F line your muffin pan with muffin liners, or spray your pan generously.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, or with your hand mixer, cream the butter, sugar, jello, and salt until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add eggs in one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour and baking powder.
  5. Mix 1/3 of the flour mixture into your muffin dough, then ½ of the buttermilk, and so on until you have mixed everything in.
  6. Fold in the chocolate chips. Do not overmix your batter, this will also make it dense!
  7. Spoon your muffin dough into your prepared muffin tins and bake for approximately 30 minute, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

So, I was house sitting for my sister, and she has a convection oven. I attempted macarons again. I attempt about every time I stay at her house. I think I hate macarons, or maybe they hate me? I am not sure. Either way, I think I am done trying to make them. Why do the French make such difficult confections?

So, I made pink almond macarons with raspberry jelly inside, and Bailey’s and coffee macarons. Obviously the coffee one (on the right) had an issue. That’s my coffee that’s giving the polka dots. You couldn’t tell they were there when I had them all sifted together with the powdered sugar. So, it was really odd that it showed up after sitting and baking. Inside those was a Bailey’s chocolate ganache…That is kind of amazing. It was 100g of milk chocolate (I just used chocolate chips) 50g of milk (they actually called for heavy cream, but I didn’t have it. Haha!) and 10g of Bailey’s. You actually heat up the milk/heavy cream, dump the chocolate chips inside the bowl and cover with tinfoil for a few minutes, then whisk together, add the Bailey’s after. It was super amazing. It thickened as it cooled. I still have some, and will be making crepes this weekend to eat with it! With all that being said, I made all of these goodies with FRESH eggs from the chickens at my sister’s house. One of the eggs I opened for the egg whites in these macraons was a double yolker!

20170922_172518_resized

I cracked one of the yolks when trying to separate from the white. 😦

You know, it really isn’t often that you can be cooking in a kitchen and have chickens looking in the patio door at you, just waiting for their nasty worms, or morsels from the table.

Leave a comment