Hot Tub Party…In 80 Degree Weather

Okay, number one thing you don’t want to do in 80 degree weather? Attend a hot tub/sauna party. But, like we were really expecting it to be that nice this weekend…It has been the WORST summer in history. (Not literally, but we had over seven inches of rain in July, our average is about four!) So, this was an engagement party that I was commissioned to make a cake for. You know what I’ve never done before? Made a cake and had to present it in 80 degree weather. My cake was literally melting. Even in the fridge! It couldn’t get a hold of itself! Luckily it kind of worked out anyway.

Yes, ladies in a hot tub, cake. I made a Black Forest Cake and covered it in white fondant, surrounded by Kit Kats (which had to be tied on, because of the melting aspect), and topped with some blue sparkle gel and some ladies in bikinis…Drinking some Moonshine.

The ladies I worked on for awhile. I have actually never made any 3D figures before, but I was excited to do it. The only thing I would do differently in the future is cut my long, beautiful nails short before doing this. 😦 I will cry…But, I had a lot of issues with nail marks in my ladies, especially their hair. So, I will have to be more careful when I do this sort of thing in the future, if it ever comes up. I will have a fancy cake again in the beginning of September, for our big 13th birthday, but it won’t have any 3D figures, our theme is “classy” mint, gold, and light pink features. Then, at the end of September I will be unveiling my fancy BLACK cake with BLACK frosting. WHEW. But, before then, perhaps a cake for my twin nephews, they will be seven! Oh my! They are the youngest in the family, at this point.

Black Forest Cake:
Yields 1 8” two layer cake. Prep time: 60 minutes Bake time: 40-50 minutes. Total time: 100-110 minutes.

Ingredients:
1 package of chocolate fudge (or devil’s food cake) cake
Ingredients called for on box

Cherry Filling:
1 Can of Cherry Pie Filling
1 ½ Tablespoons of Cherry Liqueur

Whipped Cream:
2 cups of heaving whipping cream
3 Tablespoons of powdered sugar
½ Tablespoon of Cherry Liqueur

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and generously spray your 8” pan with non-stick spray.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, or with your hand mixer, mix chocolate cake with all ingredients listed on cake box.
  3. Place ½ of your cake batter in your 8” pan and bake until toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Let cool, and remove from pan.
  4. Place the other ½ cake batter into your pan (if you have two pans and a big oven, cook them at the same time. I am not that fancy!) and bake until toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Let cook, and remove from pan.
  5. While your cakes are cooking, mix your cherry pie filling and cherry liqueur in a bowl and let set for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally to ensure all cherries get soaked. Alternatively, if you have fresh cherries, you can cut/pit about two cups, of cherries and also add in about ¼ cup of water to the mixture.
  6. Strain cherries from their juice, but keep both for the cake!
  7. In the bowl of a stand mixer, or with your hand mixer, beat heavy whipping cream, powdered sugar, and cherry liqueur together until stiff peaks form.
  8. To assemble cake: place one layer of your cake down and brush on some of the cherry juice. Layer about 3 scoops of whipped topping on your cake (this will be just over ¼ cup). Sprinkle with ½ of your cherries. Lay your second layer on top and repeat!
  9. If you want, use the remaining whipped topping to cover cake like frosting. I didn’t do this, since I covered with fondant for my hot tub party. Just remember…If it’s 80 degrees, your cream wants to melt SO BAD. So, refrigerate!

After you do all of this amazing work, relax:

Have a cocktail and put your feet in the kiddy pool…If you can wrestle it from the dogs…

Leave a Reply

