Two weeks in one!

Okay, what’s worse than not having time to make cupcakes? Well, maybe nothing. But, I was going to say not having time to share them with you guys! So, I have TWO cupcake recipes for you today! Blackberry Cobbler and Cotton Candy (Yeah, I promised those awhile ago!)

Let’s start with the Cotton Candy Cupcake, since it’s not only the easiest, but you’ve probably been expecting it for a few weeks (oops!) It was actually super simple, I cheated with boxed cake mix since these last few weeks have been insane. So, it’s just a white cake mix with all ingredients listed, then I mixed in some cotton candy!

20170514_115842

Now, I am not suggesting you do what I did here, which is leave your cotton candy bag on the top of your oven while you’re baking dinner, because it sucks the air out of it and makes it rather hard. Hahaha. Well, it was fine for this recipe, in reality, but it was WEIRD. So, you can see my chunks of cotton candy in there…When baked these chunks melted. I added in a LOT more than pictured here, how much you add is totally up to you. (Also note, my cotton candy is a little denser than yours likely will be…)

Cotton Candy

You can’t really see the cotton candy here, but there were some pink swirls in my cupcakes!! Next was just adding cotton candy to tubbed vanilla frosting! I melted my cotton candy over the stove and added some cream to it. Now, since mine was already kind of a hot mess, it left it a bit chunky, but it actually worked in my favor. The little “hard” bits were a burst of flavor of cotton candy!

20170514_174542

The kids really enjoyed these, and they were suuuuper easy!

The blackberry cobbler ones were a different story. Not necessarily hard, but they were time consuming. Again, I used a white cake mix, but I added in orange zest, about one large orange worth (it was actually two mandarins worth!) Then I added 2-3 blackberries (rolled in a small amount of flour) to the top of the cupcakes before baking!

20170514_174551

I dusted off a lot of the flour before proceeding…

While these darlings were baking I made a blackberry glaze. For 24 cupcakes:

12oz of fresh blackberries
2 tablespoons of sugar
zest of one orange and the juice of the orange (again I actually used 2 mandarins)

Combine all ingredients in a small sauce pan and simmer over medium heat until the berries start to mush. Allow to cool slightly. Using a blender, blend the mixture until pureed, then using a fine mesh strainer, press puree through to get rid of the seeds. You can make this several days in advance and keep in the fridge in an airtight container, if desired.

Also, there is a crumble on top! Of course, it just wouldn’t be cobbler without it!

8oz of cold butter
1.5 cups of flour
3/4 cup of sugar
1 teaspoon of salt

Either use a food processor or pastry cutter to cut butter into flour mixture until crumbly. Spread onto a cookie sheet and bake for approximately ten minutes. Stir your crumble and bake another ten minutes. Stir again! Bake for another 5-10 minutes, until golden brown. Allow to cool completely. Again, this can be made in advance and stored in an airtight container, no need to refrigerate.

To assemble, take your cooled cupcake, spread about one tablespoon (or as much as desired) of glaze on, sprinkle with some crumble and allow to set up (5-10 minutes) You can serve with ice cream, whip cream, or even some vanilla buttercream! We enjoyed ours ala carte!

Leave a Reply

