Part Twix, part brownie, all Heaven…

Okay, holy cow. That’s what I have to say about this recipe. I LOVE Twixes. They are one of my favorite candy bars in the whole world. (Of like three, others being Cookies ‘N Cream and Skor bars, yum.) So, I will put Twix (or Twix like) on anything. Yes, yes I will.

So, one of our stores here recently had a big sale on brownie mixes, so I bought a bunch of fudge Betty Crocker up, it’s our favorite. They are literally better than homemade. But, somehow in the mix I got a MILK CHOCOLATE one. Eek! So, I had to figure out what to do with this silly thing. So, I do what I usually do, smother it in caramel and call it a day. Well, kind of.

So, I started off with just a brownie mix, you can totally make your own brownies, that would be amazing, too. But, I had to ditch this mix that I wouldn’t eat plain (yeah, I’m that picky).

20170319_104831_resized

My second layer was shortbread cookies, cream cheese, and sugar. I somehow managed to NOT get a photo of this. What the heck was I doing? Probably eating the left over cookies….Don’t judge me.

Third layer is caramel, of course.

20170319_132658_resized

Top layer: chocolate. I think I may skip this in the future. My family all loved the chocolate topping; however, I found it to be a nuisance when I was trying to eat it. It broke in odd places and what not.

20170319_132853_resized

So, yeah. Amazing. This was super gooey and very rich. I do recommend forks and small pieces. Haha!

20170319_140718_resized

Yuuum!!

Twix Brownies:
Yields One 8×8 pan of brownies. Prep time: 20 minutes. Bake time: 20 minutes. Total time: 40 minutes.

Ingredients:
1 package of brownie mix and ingredients call for on package (or make your own)
Shortbread layer:
5oz of shortbread cookies (this is half a box of Lorna Doone’s cookies)
3oz of room temperature cream cheese
¼ cup of white sugar

Caramel layer:
7oz of caramel cubes (unwrapped)
1 tablespoon of milk (or so)

Chocolate layer (optional):
1 cup of chocolate chips
1-2 tablespoons of shortening (or coconut oil)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and generously spray your pan.
  2. Mix together brownie ingredients and pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in oven for about 20 minutes, until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  4. Cool completely.
  5. Crush your shortbread cookies (in a bag with rolling pin or in a food processor).
  6. Mix shortbread cookie crumbs with sugar and cream cheese until well combined.
  7. Press gently onto your brownie layer.
  8. Place caramel cubes and milk into a microwave safe bowl and microwave in 30 second intervals until melted. Stir well between each increment.
  9. Pour evenly over shortbread cookie layer and place in fridge to cool.
  10. Combine chocolate chips and shortening into a microwave safe bowl and microwave in 30 second intervals until melted. Stir well between each increment.
  11. Spread over caramel layer and return to fridge to cool again.
  12. Cut and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

