Twix Like Cookies.

Okay, so I took a small break there, I hadn’t really intended too, but I’ve been super busy because the semester just started up!

So, I was going to make some Twix like cookies. I LOVE shortbread cookies. I don’t know what it is about them, but they are just GOOD. But, they are also good in things, like Twix!! So, my thought? Make some Twix cookies. Duh.

Well, it went well at first:

20170122_123629_resized

My delicious dough. MMM! Plus, you can eat it raw, no eggs! Haha!

I actually have two really good recipes, I can’t decide which one I like more, they are both really, really good. I used the following recipe this time:

Shortbread Cookies:
Yields about 20 cookies. Prep time: 15 hours Bake time: 12-15 minutes. Total time: 27-30 minutes.

Ingredients:
¾ cup of soft butter
½ cup of powdered sugar
½ teaspoon of vanilla
1 ½ cups of flour
¼ teaspoon of salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line your cookie sheet with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, beat your butter and powdered sugar.
  3. Beat in the flour, salt, and vanilla until well combined.
  4. Using your hands, roll out about one inch balls of dough and then flatten with hands (to make little discs). Alternatively you could roll dough out cut out with a cookie cutter for exact circles and cookies that are the same size.
  5. Bake 12-15 minutes and then cool!

20170122_123642_resized

For making the Twix part, we have a couple of options here. I went with the super easy and just used ice cream caramel. You could also use caramels that you melt with some evaporated milk (7oz of caramel with 2 tablespoons of milk) or you could also make your own caramel (RECIPE HERE). I was incredibly impatient and couldn’t wait for my cookies to cool completely before putting caramel on top:

These are more “caramel infused” instead of caramel topped! Haha! Also, keep in mind that ice cream caramel is much thinner than stuff you’d make yourself, either from caramel bits or homemade.

For the chocolate I did one cup of chocolate chips and one tablespoon of shortening. My issue here: I forgot to watch my chocolate chips so they didn’t get too hot and seize. Twice. Sooo, guess what, I ran out of chocolate chips, ah! So, I ended up dumping on some Hershey’s chocolate syrup. It did the job, but I’m not recommending it. I ended up eating one messy cookie.

So, be sure to let your cookies cool before using the caramel, and also let the caramel set for awhile if you’re using homemade/homemadeish, that way when you put the chocolate on it won’t get all mushed together!

Leave a Reply

