Christmas Cookies Part 1!

Okay, I am making so many cookies this Christmas that I had to make half this weekend and I will make some more on Friday! I have a great job that is giving me Friday and Monday off, paid! I am so excited for Christmas. I am dying to have my step-daughter open her presents, she is going to be so happy! She has a couple of really special ones this year, one of which is a cell phone! It’s been wrapped under the tree all month, she has nooo idea. We actually outlawed cell phones until she is 14, but this next semester at college I have to take a lab course that is going to take up a lot of my time. I will have to go into work extra early in order to make up for at least some of the time I will have to be in the lab, therefore she will be taking the bus in the morning, which she’s only had to do twice in the 2.5 years she’s been with us. It’s kind of scary, she has to get on by herself while I’ve already left. My dad and her dad will still be at the house at those times, but they don’t go in the direction she has to in order to get to school! I just want to make sure she gets on the bus, and if she doesn’t then she needs to be able to tell us so she can get a last minute ride! Other than that some items she has been really asking for, certain clothes like a “fuzzy sweater,” something they bring back at Justice (the greatest tween store, ever, apparently) every winter, and also some matching jogger like sweatpants to a sweater she already has. She bought the sweater with a gift card she got for her birthday, but she couldn’t get the pants, too, luckily them bad boys went on sale 50% off last week…They are sitting ever so nicely under the tree, as well.

So, on to cookies. I made four different types this weekend, plus fudge. I don’t have the fudge or Martha Washington’s recipe to share, they are secret family recipes and I just don’t have the recipe at this time, but I also don’t have any pics of them! (FYI, Martha Washington’s are like a truffle of sorts..Coconut, pecans, butt tons of sugar, all dipped in chocolate…Diabetic shock in 3…2…) So, I made sugar cookies, vanilla Kiss cookies, and chocolate crinkles:


20161217_161312_resized

Sugar Cookies:
Yields about 20 cookies. Prep time: 20 minutes Bake time: 7-10 minutes. Total time: 27-30 minutes. These cookies do NOT require refrigerating before cooking!

Ingredients:
¾ cup of soft butter
1 cup of sugar
1 egg, room temperature
2 tablespoons of sour cream, room temperature
1 ½ teaspoons of vanilla extract
2 ½ cups of flour
1 teaspoon of baking soda
¼ teaspoon of salt
Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and spray a cookie sheet with non-stick spray or line with parchment paper.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, cream the butter and sugar.
  3. Beat in the egg, then the sour cream and vanilla.
  4. Stir in your flour, salt, and baking soda, with your mixer on low.
  5. Use two spoons (or just your hands) and scoop out small amounts and place on cookie sheet.
  6. Slightly flatten your cookies, these don’t spread out a lot!
  7. Bake 7-10 minutes and then cool before frosting. Take them out of the oven when they are still slightly doughy for best results.

For my vanilla kiss cookies I actually just used the same recipe from above and before baking I rolled them in some festive sprinkles, then baked, then when they were slightly cooled I inserted a candy cane flavored Hershey Kiss and set them outside so the kiss wouldn’t melt (of course it’s cold outside here, so if you’re in the south you better put them in the fridge!).


Chocolate Crinkle Cookies:
Yields about 30 cookies. Prep time: 4 hours Bake time: 10-12 minutes. Total time: 4 hours and 12 minutes (ish)

Ingredients:
½ cup of cocoa powder
1 cup of sugar
2 eggs
¼ cup of oil
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 cup of flour
1 teaspoon of baking powder
¼ teaspoon of salt
Powder sugar to roll cookies in (around ¼ cup)

Directions:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, beat your cocoa powder, sugar, and oil.
  2. Beat in the eggs, one at a time.
  3. Stir in your flour, salt, and baking powder, and vanilla until well combined.
  4. Refrigerate four about four hours (I did overnight)
  5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line your cookie sheet with parchment paper (for best results) or spray with cooking spray.
  6. Using your hands, roll out about one inch balls of dough and then roll into powder sugar. Place about 1 inch apart on baking sheet.
  7. Bake 10-12 minutes and then cool!

That’s all for now! On Friday I will be baking chocolate sugar cookies and some chicken flavored doggy cookies with frosting!

Leave a Reply

