Caramel Apple Pie Cookies

Well, we’re off to a rough start on my cookie themed winter addition of Baking Siren! I have no pictures! I am having phone troubles (oh, so many phone troubles) that are preventing me from uploading them. I waited one day to see if it would resolve, but it has not, so the show must go on!

Caramel Apple Pie Cookies. Sooo easy. Thinking back, I should have saved the easy ones for next weekend, it’s the big dance performance for my step-daughter, so I get pretty busy, but oh well, onward and forward!

I took my inspiration from Cincy Shopper for this recipe, this one is super duper simple, store bought crust, apple pie filling, and caramel makes for simple non-time consuming, but still totally amazing cookies! I did use the apple pie filling in a can, but I made my own caramel from my typical recipe (you can fine HERE) and made my own pie crust.

You begin by unrolling or rolling out your pie crust (depending on if you use store bought or homemade), spreading on some caramel, and laying on 1/2 inch strips of “lattice” of pie crust, sprinkle with some apple pie spice and bake! SO EASY. My recipe for pie crust is next:

For ONE pie crust:

Ingredients:

1 cup of flour
1/2 cup of Crisco
1 teaspoon of salt
1/4 cup of water

Directions:

Cut together flour, Crisco, and salt with either a pastry cutter or two knives. Once it is mixed until a crumbly texture, add your 1/4 cup of water and knead. Do not overmix! Roll out and you’re ready for cookies! (or to transfer to a pie pan)

You will need about 1.5 or so of this recipe so that you can have the lattice topping.

So, once you have your crust laid out, slather on a thin layer of caramel (homemade or store bought) and then cut up your apple pie filling into smaller pieces, lay that on top of your caramel. Then lay your lattice over your apples. This will be like one huge cookie right now, so you will have to cut them into circles, or squares, or whatever shape you feel. This will be a bit messy, so beware! Beat one egg until mixed and use as egg wash on your cookies, sprinkle the tops with 1 teaspoon of cinnamon,  1/4 teaspoon of both nutmeg, and 1/4 cup of sugar.

Bake for about 25 minutes! Once the caramel and the apples bake together it will be much less messy, so don’t worry much about the eating part, it’s just when you’re cutting and transferring to your pan that can get a bit crazy!

ENJOY!

I will attempt to upload pictures in the future!

Leave a Reply

