Thanksgiving and another Birthday Party!

Okay, so there is a lot of kids in my family at this time. So, it shouldn’t be surprising that I did yet another birthday cake this last week which occupied much of my spare time (that is why there was no post last week!). This is a happy and a sad post, it’s the last day of my “fall comfort” theme, which makes me sad, mostly because I made delicious cinnamon rolls and an amazing coffee cake that I never got pictures of and never redid. Maybe sometimes later this year! But, it’s also a happy post because December is right around the corner which means I get to start a whole new theme! This experience has been quite fun for me, I haven’t been as on top of my blog as I would have hoped, but I think I’m doing pretty darn well.

So, on to the birthday cake! The request was only to be covered in candy! I mean, what else does a nine year old boy want? Only thing he wants more is Pokemon cards, totally thought we left those in 1997.

So, there we have it. It’s a two tiered cake, chocolate with chocolate frosting on bottom, and red velvet with vanilla frosting on top. I drizzled some “chocolate ganache” (equal parts heavy cream and chocolate) on top for the melted effect (my top layer got a little maimed by the plastic wrap, don’t mind the bad frost job there). The bottom tier is encased in kit kats (the ribbon was pretty unnecessary, I just didn’t want to take any risks) and filled in with mini M&M’s. There are gum drops lining the bottom because my cake ended up being exactly the same height as the kit kats, so if I put them at the bottom they would not have held in my M&M’s! The top tier is decorated with Blow Pops, gumballs, Nerds, Runts, and Sour Patch Kids! It was incredibly sweet and a huge hit with the kids!

Thanksgiving was amazing, as always. We did all the traditional stuff: turkey, ham (we have a lot of family, haha), sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, egg noodles with gravy, and tons of homemade breads. We also did the “Alaska” Thanksgiving of shrimp, smoked salmon, and smoked salmon dip. We had tons of veggies and cheeses we munched on.

20161124_111447_resized
Basting our Raspberry Chipolte Ham

And most importantly we had desserts: pumpkin pie, pumpkin roll, syrup pie, and chocolate raspberry tarts!

As you can tell dad couldn’t stand that syrup pie sitting there all alone and already took 1/4 of it!!! Pretty standard at our house. (Not to create any confusion, syrup pie is better known as pecan pie.)

No pictures of the pumpkin roll because it didn’t get brought out until afterwards, I think my brother-in-law was hording it to himself, it’s his specialty. That and some pretty grand apple cider. My boyfriends little sister made the tarts (she’s nine!) they were very adorable and delicious. The pumpkin pie was your basic pumpkin pie recipe on the back of the pumpkin can, with triple or quadruple the amount of pumpkin pie spices (yum).

Syrup pie is my families recipe:

1 cup of sugar
3 eggs
1 cup of light corn syrup
Butter the size of an egg (around two tablespoons)
Vanilla flavor to taste (that’s 1-2 teaspoons)
9″ deep dish pie crust
Pecan halves

Beat eggs. Add in light corn syrup and sugar and mix until incorporated. Mix in butter and vanilla. Pour into a 9″ deep dish pie crust and cover with pecan halves all around the pie. I typically poke a few down into the pie as I go so there is double! Bake a 350 for about an hour, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. So good!

Leave a Reply

