Batman Birthday Party and Scones!

So, I did another birthday cake this last week, my nephews just turned six. Yes, nephews, plural, little crazy twins. They are EXHAUSTING! Batman was the theme, of course. And, we went to our local pool and they offer like a birthday package, includes swimming for 10 kids, decorations, the space, plates, napkins, forks, and a cake. But, we made another cake, thank goodness. There was almost nothing left!!

14333693_10154391774652184_8476667391903135157_n

Here’s the only picture I can currently find of the finished project. I have better pictures somewhere of it before it was transported and man(child)-handled. Haha!

In process:

I cut the stars and bats with cookie cutters. The cityscape and bat symbol were traced, then, just little squares and rectangles for windows. We used 22g wire to stand up some of the stars and bats on the top of the cake (see picture at top). It was a quickie. I used boxed Devil’s Food Cake and homemade frosting (not buttercream) that we dyed to be the same yellow as the stars and windows! I just folded over the corners on both tiers, since we actually ended up cover all of them and you couldn’t tell (just like the lower tier here). I think what took me the longest was cutting out the cityscape! It was very popular at the party!

I did another random craft this week, I bought (quite a few months ago) a shelf:

It is very red. I don’t care that much for the color red. And my apartment is mainly neutral tan colored and…Purple. Shades of purple. I did not paint it like that, it came that way. I’m…Almost(ish) done painting the bathroom, it was/is pea green with a tan ceiling. My accent wall is a fantastic teal that matches my towels, and everything else (ceiling included) will be grey. In the living room (where this shelf lives) it’s tan with an accent wall of EGGPLANT. So, super dark purple wall with this very red shelf on it. So bad. I cringed when I saw it. I still don’t like that purple wall, but I really have to finish the bathroom first. I actually have the paint, it’s a matter of all of the things on the current wall that needs to be moved in order for it to be painted. So…It’s  motivational issue. Luckily, I didn’t have that problem with this piece. I spray painted it.

It looks pretty blue in this picture, but it’s actually more of a teal. It’s called “Lagoon” I’m surprised how much bluer it looks in this photo. Either way, it’s all ready to go back into my living room!

For our actual food for the fall that is comforting..Scoooooones! I love scones. So, I seem to have had a few photo problems here this week. Missing most of my pictures of the Batman cake finished, and all of the pictures of my second type of scone! But, I guess we’ll have to march forward, and know that the pictures of the scones that are missing..Are my favorite scones I’ve ever made in the world. THEY ARE SO AMAZING. So, missing scones first:

Cinnamon Scones with Glaze:

Ingredients:
2 cups of flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/2 cup of cold butter
1 egg, separated
3 tablespoons of honey
1/3 cup of buttermilk

Cinnamon Sugar Topping:
1-2 tablespoons of sugar (the big crystals are the best for this!)
1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Glaze:
1 cup of powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
1-3 teaspoons of milk (until thin enough to pour, but not too thin!)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt until well mixed.
  3. Cut in butter with two knives or a pastry cutter.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix the egg yolk, buttermilk, and honey together.
  5. Add to dry ingredients and mix until JUST combined, don’t over mix scones!
  6. Flour your work surface and place dough in a ball on the surface. Pat down until 1/2 inch thick.
  7. Cut into eight wedges and transfer to a greased pan.
  8. Whisk your egg white until frothy and brush on top of scones, mix your sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle on top of egg wash.
  9. Cook for 10-12 minutes.
  10. Mix together glaze ingredients and drizzle over your scones when they are done baking! ENJOY!

Red Velvet Scones:

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups of red velvet cake mix
1 cup of flour
8 tablespoons of cold butter
3/4 cup of milk

Cream Cheese Frosting:
8 oz of cream cheese
1/2 cup of sugar
1 teaspoon of vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare baking sheet by laying down parchment paper, don’t grease!
  2. Mix together cake mix and flour. Cut in cold butter with two knives or a pastry cutter.
  3. Stir in milk until JUST combined.
  4. On a floured surface (and with floured hands) dump dough in a ball on the surface and pat down until 1/2 inch thick.
  5. Cut into eight wedges and transfer to baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes.
  7. Using a hand mixer mix together cream cream cheese frosting ingredients until combined and pour over cooked scones!

** Note, scones can’t be over mixed or they will be tough! They also have very sticky dough, so look out for that. That’s what makes them so deliciously moist!!**

 

Leave a Reply

