Peach Bellini’s and Pink Champagne Cupcakes!

Wow. Am I ever late for this blog. Last week was a total nightmare. We had a new person start here and the big boss came in from out of town to help train and it was crazy. Which is why there was no recipe last Monday. However, I have, of course, brought you two today to enjoy! Peach Bellini Cupcakes and Pink Champagne cupcakes!

I’ve been holding on to this champagne for awhile, not going to lie. I almost opened it twice (removed the outer foil, then removed the cage from the cork) but, both times I put it back on thinking there would be a better time. I actually bought this when our Walmart went out of business (tragic day). So, I knew it had to be special, to say farewell to all those good prices and the only store that sold children’s clothes in our entire town. UG!

Last weekend we did have some craziness going on that prevented me from making cupcakes as well, I had my nephews, and they decided the more important thing to make was…Banana splits! So, we did.

20160723_183132_resized

Yum!

This weekend I bought a betta, that was kind of my highlight (besides these delicious cupcakes, of course), look how cute he is. I think his name will simply be “fish” because I can’t think of anything else, ah!

20160801_084545_resized

Like any pet, I didn’t just buy him on a whim, I’ve been thinking about buying one for quite some time to keep me company at work, I just hadn’t found the right one. He is PERFECT. I just put him in his bowl (it’s a vase) and he seems pretty happy so far.

So, moving on, my absolute favorite cupcake is actually a pink champagne cupcake. My sister made them once before (she is NOT a baker), and they were super good. She actually made them simply by using a box of white cake mix and champagne (I think she just replaced the water with champagne) but, I try to avoid using box cakes in my cupcakes, because I just don’t like to roll that way. I totally use boxed cake for cake pops, because they are so much work to begin with!!! This champagne cupcake was made from scratch, as was the peach Bellini, they are actually quite similar!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I didn’t put that much pink color into the frosting or cupcakes, typically I would make them much pinker, but I didn’t want to put off my love from trying them. He says pink food just isn’t right. Whatever.

20160728_205837_resized

Look at the little carbonation bubbles! I swear it’s the champagne that makes them so fluffy, we should be put champagne in ALL cupcakes!

My peach Bellini’s unfortunately didn’t look so beautiful, my peach schnapps was too cold (which was weird because I don’t store it in the fridge…) so my batter separated, be careful to ensure that all ingredients are room temperature to avoid this!

20160728_205834_resized

They still taste fine, but they just don’t loo, pretty! Plus they didn’t really dome like a cupcake should.

I managed to still have fun and eat them all!!! With a side of an actual Bellini, of course.

Pink Champagne Cupcakes:
Yields 20 cupcakes (ish). Prep time: 15 minutes Bake time: 15 minutes. Total time: 30 minutes.

Ingredients:
½ cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
¼ cup of shortening
1 ½ cups of sugar
2 eggs
1 ½ cups of flour
1 teaspoon of baking powder
dash of salt
¼ cup of buttermilk
1 teaspoon of vanilla
½ cup of champagne
a few drops of red food coloring (or pink if you have it!)
(if too thick, add in small amounts of regular milk until the right consistency)

Frosting:
¼ cup (1/2 stick) of butter, room temperature
2 cups of powdered sugar
2 tablespoons of champagne
½ teaspoon of vanilla
a few drops of red food coloring (or pink if you have it!)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and line 20 (ish) muffin tins with cupcake liners.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, beat the butter and shortening until light and fluffy. Slowly add in sugar and mix until fully incorporated. Add in eggs, one at a time and mix until fully incorporated.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  4. In a separate bowl add buttermilk, vanilla, and champagne together. Add 1/3 of flour mixture, ½ of milk mixture, 1/3 of flour mixture, and so on, being sure to fully mix between each addition.
  5. Pour into prepared muffin tin and bake in the oven for 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Cool completely before frosting!

Champagne Buttercream:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, beat the butter until light and fluffy.
  2. Add in the powdered sugar, one cup at a time, beating slowly.
  3. Add in the champagne one tablespoon at a time. Then add in vanilla.
  4. Frost! I decorated with some sugar pearls!

My peach Bellini cupcakes were quite similar:

Peach Bellini Cupcakes:
Yields 24 cupcakes. Prep time: 15 minutes Bake time: 15-20 minutes. Total time: 30-35 minutes.

Ingredients:
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
2  cups of sugar
3 eggs
3 cups of flour
3 teaspoons of baking powder
½ teaspoon of salt
¼ cup of buttermilk
1 teaspoon of vanilla
¾ cup of champagne
¼ cup of peach schnapps
1 medium peach, diced.

Frosting:
¾ cup (1 ½ sticks) of butter, room temperature
4 cups of powdered sugar
¼ cup of champagne
1 teaspoon of peach schnapps
1 teaspoon of vanilla
a few drops of red food coloring (or pink if you have it!)
If too thick, add up to one tablespoon of milk.

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and line 24 muffin tins with cupcake liners.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in eggs, one at a time and mix until fully incorporated. Beat in vanilla.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  4. In a separate bowl add peach schnapps and champagne together. Add 1/3 of flour mixture, ½ of alcohol mixture, 1/3 of flour mixture, and so on, being sure to fully mix between each addition.
  5. Gently fold in the diced peaches
  6. Pour into prepared muffin tin and bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  7. Cool completely before frosting!

Peach Buttercream:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, beat the butter until light and fluffy.
  2. Add in the powdered sugar, one cup at a time, beating slowly.
  3. Add in the champagne and peach schnapps, slowly. Then add in vanilla.
  4. Mix in food coloring.
  5. Frost!
Leave a Reply

