Vanilla Chai Cake Pops

So, yesterday was nuts. My coworker called in sick, and I dropped off my step-daughter at a big overnight camp in the morning, so I was already going to be late for work! It was so hectic I didn’t get to talk about my Vanilla Chai Cake Pops I made this weekend!!

These were pretty delicious, but in retrospect, maybe would have been a better cupcake. I decided this after I made them and realized I couldn’t bear to cover them in candy melts. Their delicate spice flavor would have made a beautiful cupcake, and that candy coating would have sweetened it far too much. So, my solution was I just left them uncoated!

20160719_091157_resized

Obviously this turned them into “cake balls” instead of “cake pops” as I didn’t add a stick in there. But, yum anyway! You lose how pretty the buttercream would have been, but I still loved them. Next time I will add in more spices though, I love spice. I actually probably doubled the amount of spice in the cake and the buttercream, compared to a typical spiced cake. But, I can’t help it. I love spices. Except cardamom. This recipe calls for cardamom, I love the smell and the flavor, but for the love of God, when you are shopping for this recipe buy the already ground cardamom!! Don’t kid yourself and say you’ll grind it. It’s too stinking hard.

20160716_165744_resized

I worked at it with a small nutmeg grinder, didn’t do much. So, I used a pestal and it is still pretty chunky. It’s the lighter color up top. Chunks!! Going clockwise: the large pile is cinnamon, then ground ginger, ground cloves, and ground nutmeg. I love spices. They smell sooo amazing.

So, I just made a small batch, since my girl is at camp this week, this a six inch pan. (I snuck a bite right out of the middle!) Flopped that guy right into the bowl and mashed it all up. (The bowl looks dirty because I just made buttercream in it. Why wash it when you’re about to mix it all in there anyway!!)

Here’s the buttercream. Just a tiny amount. I made a small amount of batter, then half of the amount of buttercream I would have if I had made cupcakes. Since you don’t need that much for cake pops. It ended up being almost too much.

Vanilla Chai Cakepops:
Yields 18ish cake pops. Prep time: 45 minutes Bake time: 30 minutes. Total time: 75 minutes.

Chai Spice:
3 teaspoons of ground cardamom
3 teaspoons of ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon of ground ginger
½ teaspoon of ground cloves
½ teaspoon of ground nutmeg

Cake Pop Batter:
½ cup (one stick) of butter
1 cup of sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
4 teaspoons of chai spice mix
1 ¼ cups of flour
½ cup of buttermilk
½ teaspoon of apple cider vinegar
½ teaspoon of baking soda
Chai Buttercream:
½ cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
½ teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 cup of powdered sugar
Remainder of chai spice mix
Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F and spray a 9×13 cake pan with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In small bowl combine your chai mix ingredients and set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer cream butter and sugar. Add your vanilla extract and then eggs, one at a time. Beating until just combined.
  4. Fold in your flour and buttermilk.
  5. Mix together your baking soda and vinegar in a separate bowl. (If you remember from science class this makes a bit of fun, so don’t worry when it start to fizzle!!) Add to your batter and mix until combined.
  6. Pour into prepared pan and bake in the oven for 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  7. Cool completely before crumbling and adding frosting to create your cake pops!
  8. As I stated I actually stopped here, I did not coat in candy melts, feel free to try it out! Maybe adding in some cinnamon or other spice would help boost that yum!

Chai Buttercream:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, beat the butter on medium-high speed for about 2 minutes.
  2. Add in your vanilla and chai spice mix and beat slowly.
  3. Add in the powdered sugar while beating slowly.
  4. If your buttercream is too thick add in small amounts (one tablespoonish) of cold milk. (I actually got a little crazy with my vanilla [my teaspoon runeth over] and ended up with kind of thin buttercream and added in more powdered sugar!)
  5. You may not need every bit of this buttercream to make your cake pops, be sure to add in only what you need to make them stick together, but not be soggy!

**Two things to note here!**

One: If you decide to make cupcakes, you need to double the amount of buttercream here, you need far less to make cake pops than you do to cover your cupcakes!

Two: I doubled the amount of spice a normal cake would typically have. If you’re not like me and love the super spice, cut your chai spice mix recipe in half and add only two teaspoons to the batter and two teaspoons to the buttercream!

So, the other thing I got to do this weekend was make some yummy frozen dog treats with fresh picked blueberries! My back yard is full of blueberry bushes, salmonberry bushes, and thimbleberry bushes (I’m truly blessed!) My step-daughter picked a cup of blueberries for our doggy treats right outside our door!

Here’s them all mixed up before being frozen. If you are using frozen blueberries if probably won’t get this rich color. Since ours are so fat, juicy, and fresh, they are sooo dark! (Don’t let them get eaten inside!)

My boys were dying to get them teeth into these. Jack Jack wasn’t so sure about it once he had it, he’s not crazy about the cold (T shirt even though it was about 70 out…) but in the end, it was gone and he wanted another!!

Recipe is incredibly easy, ready?

Banana Blueberry Frozen Dog Treats:

One cup of blueberries (frozen of fresh!)
One banana (mine was old and mushy)
One 6 oz cup of regular yogurt (or vanilla, just be careful of sugar content

Blend it all together and pour into your molds. Freeze until solid and feed to your loves! Frozen treats are a great way to beat the heat! ❤

Leave a Reply

