Summer Theme: Drinks; Margarita Cupcakes!

I am calling this happy summer time! It’s not quite officially summer, but school has been out for almost two weeks, the sun is shining, and I am off on vacation!!!

You may notice this one has come out a few days earlier…Well, I am on my way out of here, and that’s why! I’m heading to where the sun is actually shining, because it’s really raining in Juneau. It’s always raining in Juneau.

So, this summer all I could think of is drink theme. I love drinks, especially alcoholic ones. Don’t worry, these aren’t all alcoholic, and I’ll add in an alternative, in case you want to make these family friendly! So, get ready for some delicious drink inspired cupcakes and cakepops. I’ll also toss in a few doggy treats (my babies never have enough yummies) and I plan on making lots of homemade ice cream, and some regular old delicious drinks!

I did these beauties a couple of days ago for my father’s birthday. His favorite mixed drink is a margarita. So, here I present a margarita cupcake:

I gave them a cute, little lime slice, like you may find on a margarita! These little guys have some tequila in the buttercream, which gave it a bit of a zing! Easily swapped for non-alcoholic margarita mix!

I didn’t take a lot of pictures of these cuties, because I made the cupcakes one night, and I had the pleasure of zesting my thumb whilst zesting the limes, so once they were cooked and done, I was too. Haha! Well, it should have been fine, I should have been able to make the buttercream and frost them the next day right before dinner (which is better anyway) except my sister sent me to pick up wine for dinner (worst job ever for me; I don’t drink wine, I don’t like wine, I can’t choose wine!) then my mother had me stop for sour cream, then I finally made it home (30 minutes later, 30 minutes until dinner) and my lovely man-child made breakfast that morning and left my poor, little kitchen a horrendous mess. Bacon, eggs, potatoes, grease, and dishes everywhere. I think by now he’d learn to clean! Plus he ate all of the leftovers from dinner the night before, so I had to make PB&J for lunch the next day. I haven’t been forced to eat that in awhile!! In his defense, he ended up bringing me some amazingly delicious oriental food for a surprise lunch instead.

Margarita Cupcakes:
Yields 12 cupcakes. Prep time: 25 minutes Bake time: 18 minutes. Total time: 43 minutes.

Ingredients:
½ cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
2/3 cups of sugar
3 eggs
Zest from 2 limes
1 ½ cups of flour
1 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
½ teaspoon of salt
¼ cup of lime juice or ¼ cup of margarita mix (equally delicious!)

Frosting:
½ cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
½ cup shortening
4-5 cups of powdered sugar
2 tablespoons of tequila
1 tablespoon of lime juice
or
Substitute with 3 tablespoons of margarita mix.
Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and line 12 muffin tins with cupcake liners.
  2. Beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, until fully incorporated. Stir in the lime zest, lime juice (or margarita mix).
  3. Mix the flour, baking powder, and salt in with the wet ingredients and mix until fully incorporated.
  4. Pour into prepared muffin tin and bake in the oven for 18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  5. Cool completely before frosting!

Margarita Buttercream:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, beat the butter and shortening on medium-high speed for about 2 minutes.
  2. Add in the powdered sugar, one cup at a time, beating slowly.
  3. Add in the tequila and lime juice (or margarita mix). Be sure that these are room temperature, or your buttercream may become upset!
  4. If you would like to achieve the pale green of my cuppycakes, add in one drop of green and one drop of yellow food coloring.
  5. Frost! I added a fresh ½ wedge of lime to each cupcake just for a little something extra, totally not necessary.
Leave a Reply

