Raspberry Vanilla Cake Pops and My First Big Failure

Wow, what a long weekend. Not relaxing AT ALL. I wish I could turn back and have a do over!!

I made cake pops again this weekend. I really do hate making them, but, like buttercream, I really just need to do them more often. UG. So, I did. Raspberry Vanilla ones. Well, I also had another project I was working on. About…Oh, I don’t know four or five years ago I decided I would make an apron. I was just starting out learning to sew. It was a disaster. I still hadn’t finished that apron. But, over the last few weeks I keep thinking, gosh it’d be nice to have an apron with all this baking I’ve been doing… So, I decide to finish sewing my apron, finally.

I made up some regular old vanilla cupcakes (of course, see recipe below). Then, I popped them babies in the oven and went upstairs to work on my apron. Then, I almost completely forgot to go back and check on them!! Luckily they weren’t too badly damaged, just a little dark, which made my cake pops kind of funny colored inside, but whatever, I suppose. I managed to finish my apron, don’t laugh:

20160529_122545_resized

Don’t mind my stomach hanging out there either, I was working outside (like our tiny roof back there? And my step-daughters boots, all torn apart, who knows what’s going on there) so, I was wearing clothes I don’t mind ruining, which obviously includes shirts that shrank in the wash, haha! So, I think my ruffles were cut pretty crooked, you can obviously see the space between the top ruffle and the waist band. I will be making a new apron, for sure. But, I’ll have this one as my spare, I suppose! Each time I look back at this, I think the cupcakes and the stripes are cute together, and the zebra and the polka dots are good together, but all together? Maybe too different.

So, back to my vanilla cupcakes/cake pops. I smushed up some of the cupcakes in order to make the cakepops, I hadn’t done this before, but it worked just fine!

And, added some of the delicious raspberry buttercream I whipped up! These were pretty good, vanilla and raspberry is awesome. I am thinking next time chocolate cake and raspberry. YUM!

So, onto my failure. It’s hard to talk about. It’s my first big failure in the kitchen in awhile! I really wanted to do Kiwi…My step-daughter LOVES kiwi. But, I know it’s extremely hard to work with. I used just the vanilla cupcakes, and attempted a kiwi buttercream. It just didn’t work. I think there is definitely a way that this could have worked. But, honestly, it was hard to look at with the weird green tinge, and the taste of kiwi and the buttercream base was just WEIRD. So, I scraped it all! I did take photos before that though:

Just weird looking, and the buttercream kept trying to break. Odd color, seeds included, not holding together, and just a funky taste led me to ditch these guys before anyone else tried them!

Vanilla Cakepops:
Yields 24ish cakepops. Prep time: 45 minutes Bake time: 30-35 minutes. Total time: 75-80 minutes.

Ingredients:
1 ½ cups of sugar
4 eggs
1 cup of oil
1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
2 ½ cups of cake flour
2 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of salt
1 cup of buttermilk

Raspberry Buttercream:
6 tablespoons butter, room temperature
4 oz of cream cheese, room temperature
2 cups of powdered sugar
1/4 cup (or so) of fresh raspberries
Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F and spray a 9×13 cake pan with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer beat eggs for 10-20 seconds. Add sugar and continue to beat for 30 more seconds, add vanilla and oil and beat until combined.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together.
  4. Add ½ of the dry ingredients to the egg mixture and mix until combined. Add ½ of milk, mix. The last ½ of flour mixture, and the last of the milk. Beat until combined. The batter will be thin.
  5. Pour into prepared pan and bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Cool completely before crumbling and adding frosting to create your cakepops!
  7. New to cakepops? See my previous entry with more in depth instructions! Cake Pop Help

Raspberry Buttercream:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or with your hand mixer, beat the butter on medium-high speed for about 2 minutes.
  2. Add the cream cheese and beat until combined and smooth.
  3. Add in the powdered sugar, one cup at a time, beating slowly.
  4. Add in the raspberries a few at a time, mixing until they are smushed and incorporated. Add until you have the right consistency. You don’t want to add too much liquid so you have super thin buttercream!

You can, of course, also make these just raspberry vanilla cupcakes, the recipe will make about 24 cupcakes! You’ll have to double the frosting, most likely, to have enough to cover!

One thought on “Raspberry Vanilla Cake Pops and My First Big Failure”

Leave a Reply

